Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Heart to Heart + Special G1 Climax 32 PT2 coverage!

I get honest with this heart to heart about burn out, content creation, and not chasing after others on Twitter even if they are in your niche category.

Hey everyone! Good morning! Happy Thursday!

Read Squared Circle Info in the Substack app
Available for iOS and Android

I live stream on twitch: https://www.twitch.tv/marie_shadows on Tuesday August 16 to celebrate Tama Tonga’s win. Promoted it on twitter. I then talked about how I was feeling and explained about how I got the burn out and why I’m behind on the G1 coverage.

Today is August 18th and today are the finals of this long tournament.

I even talked about how content creation is difficult and not at all easy as many will have you believe. I talk about how chasing after people on Twitter who cover NJPW as you do isn’t a good thing. I didn’t feel seen any more in the community, at least seen to new eyes. And then I realized that the type of personality you give on social media will determine the type of fans that follow you and want to see your content. I see everything on Twitter. I also determined that chasing others that don’t see you, doesn’t help me grow at all.

And then after all that, I talk about the matches above.

I was wondering if I should put this up. I’m not the one to shy away from conversations like this. I was second guessing myself. But I’ll see the feedback, if it comes. As content creators, we all go through ups and downs and frustrations and wondering if our content is good enough.

I got burnt out because I created such an ambitious G1 schedule for myself just to try and prove to everyone that I can hang with the men who cover the tournament and try to create a community fun time around the events to teach everyone about NJPW, talk about the stories that happen in the ring, talk about the backstage comments and how those push the in-ring stories. NJPW does storytelling differently than WWE, differently than AEW, differently than IMPACT Wrestling, differently than MLW, differently than the indies. NJPW is unique with their storytelling.

I created the Lu.ma events so you can get the notifications for when I go live. No one from social media signed up. Lu.ma is a cool way to keep communities, friends, podcast guests, anyone updated about upcoming events that can be virtual or in person. They get a notification to their email. They can click the link or get the address for the meet up. And because no one signed up, I felt like I failed there…somehow, someway. I’m not going send out a newsletter email post every time I go live on twitch. You guys will unsubscribe faster than anything. If I wouldn’t like that approach…8 times out of 10, you wouldn’t either. There may be the 2 that wouldn’t mind.

And as I say all this, I just like to keep things transparent. If I’m not transparent, if I’m not honest about things to my community, then I become the shady people on Twitter and in life.

No one is to blame. No one is to feel guilty. Content creation has highs and lows, and in the end we’ll all be better for it. We all learn from these setbacks. We all learn. Sharing our experiences is how we grow and learn together.

Plus, today is the last day for wrestling content so we can all take a break.

This Saturday, I’m media press for the tag team S.A.T., they are also known as the Maximo Brothers and are legends in the business.

Then I got something special happening in September. It’s a wrestling travel day. More on that later as I’m working to truly confirm the booking. 🤞

Saturday we are going to try our first Substack Thread. I’ll ask a question, give some examples and hopefully I’ll get good responses. I want to make this newsletter feel more like a community and not just a dump NJPW and wrestling content and go.

I also want to know if you guys are learning anything from the way I break down NJPW.

Leave a comment

Thanks for reading all of this and understanding. Hope to see you in the comments. Thanks for watching the video. If you haven’t watched the latest video, I posted of the Tama Tonga vs Jay White video, then watch it below:

Squared Circle Info
🔥Special Day 18 G1 Climax 32 Review
Watch now (59 min) | In this video post, I’m breaking down the match between Tama Tonga vs Jay White. This is a super important match in their story history. Back in February 2022, Jay White decided to kick out Tama and his brother Loa from Bullet Club. The betrayal was real. My heart was broken. It hurt so much. When Tama and Loa came back to the NJPW, Bullet Club had a choice to make…
Read more

It is paid with 25mins free. I do pay for NJPW World which is $7 monthly in order to get this type of content made.

Get 28% off for 1 year

2 more days to redeem the NJPW G1 Climax 32 special offer.

OR:

Get 2 day free trial

Signing up the Squared Circle Podcast means you’ll get free and paid content. Going paid helps the wrestling content not only become better but you’ll get exclusive, full coverage, of wrestling match breakdowns, wrestler interviews such as Clark Connors and Aaron Henare, written articles, wrestling travel vlogs (starting soon again), women wrestling content, twitch livestreams, and more! Supporting an independent wrestling content creator can help make all dreams come true and then some! Thank you joining me on this ride! Sign up today!

0 Comments
Wrestling Roots Hub
NJPW
All things New Japan Pro Wrestling! News, reviews, vlogs, and more!
Authors
Marie Shadows